Sally Brown

It’s been raining all week, so we decided to immerse ourselves at home in a flood of work. One time we came back all drenched, and decided to stay indoors for days ‘til we needed to go back out and refill our provisions. Then all we’ve ever done was work, and watch Charlie Brown’s Peanuts movie.

The animated film reminds me of brighter days, but I’m not sad at all. Mark loves it when we’re at home ‘cause he detests crowded places, and big crowds in general. Actually, we both do, and that’s why we love to work at home more than in a formal work space.

I picked up the Peanuts movie characters I purchased from a nearby McDonalds fast food restaurant, and started to draw Sally Brown. Mark wanted me to sketch Snoopy, but instead ended up telling me about his first dog ever named Tulip. But I’m his cat, and cats naturally stay away from dogs.

Photo Credits: clairelyhappy

Busy week painting and laying out graphics.

Like Sally Brown we chose to take an “easy approach to life” during the rainy days. With the cool pitter-patter sound of the rain against our tin roof we ended up dozing more than usual, but since we never went out we still ended up working more in a day.

Mark wrote in the morning with a blanket draped over his back, watching the rain. My painting took more time to dry up in the cool weather, but no one’s in a hurry to do anything.

“Do you want to go out later?” I asked.

“What for? Unless we’re out of food supplies I’d rather stay at home, veer away from people. Too many people everywhere, I swear, sometimes it feels like an epidemic.” Mark replied in a way I expected.

“Why don’t you paint Sally Brown some more? Or some stuff that reflects the good old days. I miss my dog Tulip. I miss my dog Snow Ball after her, and Snoopy. Did you know Hemingway’s cat was named Snow White?”

Photo Credits: clairelyhappy

Painting Sally Brown on a canvas tote bag.

I painted Sally Brown, and thought about how appropriate her personality was to our innocent chatter in our small house under the rain.

Photo Credits: clairelyhappy

Stages of my work from sketch to the finished product.

Photo Credits: clairelyhappy

Happy Sally is finally done!

Leave a Reply

